Paying jobs for 1L?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Paying jobs for 1L?

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Mar 01, 2017 2:04 pm

I guess I made the mistake of only applying to 1L firm jobs. It's now seeming more likely that I will not receive one. Is there any direction anyone can provide in where I can find a 1L paid job?

I come from a low-SES family, also a URM. I graduated from a top undergrad, currently attending a T14 law school. After graduating from college, I worked for a couple years so that I could have enough money to pay off my loans from undergrad, as well as save up for expenses for the first two years of law school. I worked up until the beginning of school. While I was working, there were some family emergencies, as well as friends who set up GoFundMe accounts for different purposes. Even though I knew I needed the money for law school, I still contributed. But now, I am sitting here and I will probably not be able to pay rent for the last two months of my lease (and forget signing a lease for the next year). Now when I need it the most, I feel as if no one is here for me (most of my family cannot help me, but there is one person that could contribute). Anyway, I thought I had enough money for the first two years, but turns out buying furniture and moving is really expensive (I know - dumb, but I never had to do all of this until law school). I also had a medical emergency last term that I had to pay out of pocket for. I am really regretting making these contributions, and I wi