2 years in as a corporate lawyer; Need advise Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

2 years in as a corporate lawyer; Need advise

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Feb 10, 2017 12:41 am

Hello,

I'm a second year transactional lawyer at biglaw. I went to law school at a later age so once I started at the firm I worked very hard to get early experiences much as possible to find out whether I will stick with this career. However, the more and more I find out about what it is that my partners do, I've grown completely disenchanted with the transactional law in general (M&A and finance are all I've experienced). It's not the long hours or the mind numbing secretarial tasks that I have to do. It's the realization that even the senior lawyers are all essentially serving the client as a scribe, not really an advisor. All these clients (think PE, banks, F500 project managers and CFOs) are very sophisticated and already know most of the law that they have to know to get the deal done. All my team would do is to faithfully document and plug in the variables that was provided by the client via email/phone/term sheet to the agreements.

I don't care if my job is to to wipe a sumo wrestler's ass everyday as long as some meaningful, intellectually challenging work is awaiting in the future. To be clear, documenting all the deal point so that it flows through within and among other agreements is not always easy, but that task would still be characterized as dictation.