Big Decision: Public or Private

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Big Decision: Public or Private

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Feb 03, 2017 3:36 pm

I've been here in TLS, on the Vale since 2016, and am writing to ask for much needed advice. Through law school, I studied and was most interested in a career in patent law and corporate law. I was top 25% at a T30 school and have bio undergrad with the patent agent cert.

I've been doing non-legal work since graduation. Most recently, I got a job at a start-up tech company. The work is largely non-legal, but I am allowed to designate my title as in-house counsel and there might be some legal aspects. The job is located in a major city where I want to live on the west coast, but pays just south of $50k, which makes servicing my loans on top of rent a bit of a problem. The start-up could make a lot of money, or just fizzle, and I've been looking for big law jobs while here.

At the same time, I'm in the final stages of discussing a District Attorney job in a rural location in a state that would be interesting to live in for a few years, but where I'm not sure that I would want to spend the rest of my life. The pay is about double that of the startup and, obviously, the work is 100% substantive legal work that would probably make me feel way better about myself than selling products for the tech company.