Lawyers dating other lawyers: do you ever compare yourselves?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Lawyers dating other lawyers: do you ever compare yourselves?

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jan 26, 2017 3:57 pm

My SO is a lawyer and I am a law student. Both of us did/are doing reasonably well in law school. Every once in awhile I will find myself comparing myself to her and I feel like I'm developing an inferiority complex. What do you guys do to stop yourselves from doing that?

Anonymous User

Re: Lawyers dating other lawyers: do you ever compare yourselves?

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:02 pm

Make sure you pick different practice areas.

Also recognize that your SO has more experience than you, and that law school does not do a very good job of teaching you how to be a "lawyer." So comparing a law student to a practicing lawyer is comparing apples to oranges.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:05 pm

What I really struggle with is comparing my law school accomplishments with her accomplishments.

Thankfully we are in different practice areas.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:05 pm

Bondage roleplay.

LaLiLuLeLo

Silver

Postby LaLiLuLeLo » Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:09 pm

Yeah, sometimes we'll get caught up comparing before we jump in the shower or something. It's kinda humiliating that hers is a little girthy and very pretty compared to mine :|

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:10 pm