Advice needed... miserable lateral after 5 months

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Advice needed... miserable lateral after 5 months

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Jan 26, 2017 10:00 am

I find myself in what is almost certainly not a unique situation. I'm a graduate of 2013, and have been practicing since passing the bar in July of that year. I started out in the public sector (DA/PD office) and did that for about two years before jumping to a small commercial lit/corporate firm. After a year there, I lateraled into biglaw in a secondary market (same state, a few hours away).

I've in biglaw for 5 months now and am completely miserable. It's not the hours, but my boss. He is insufferable. He is rude, yells, stomps around the office for no reason, etc... pretty much the whole nine yards. His attitude is not just directed towards me, but at the office as a whole. Our office is small, less than 10 attorneys and less than 5 support staff so avoiding this partner is impossible. It's to the point where I lose my lunch when this partner calls my office, or screams at me from his office. I wake up defeated every morning and can't wait until the weekends. I've started working with my door closed all day to avoid any unnecessary interaction.

I don't really know what to do. It seems like a move is too soon and while I had a federal job almost in the bag, the process was cut short because of the hiring freeze. I've dealt with difficult supervisors before, but this is at a whole new level.