Invited to an interview to practice group w/ zero experience. What to do?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Invited to an interview to practice group w/ zero experience. What to do?

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Jan 23, 2017 4:52 pm

I am a graduate and haven't taken any real estate classes at law school, other than Property.I took a bunch of other corporate law classes instead.

I am invited to an interview for a real estate associate position. Since I have zero legal experience since law school, the classes I took would get asked during an interview. I summered at law firms while in law school and slightly touched on real estate but very quick projects.

How can I show that I have some knowledge in real estate, which I don't, and that I am interested in real estate practice, which I am?

1styearlateral

Silver

Re: Invited to an interview to practice group w/ zero experience. What to do?

Postby 1styearlateral » Mon Jan 23, 2017 5:25 pm

It would be foolish to try and demonstrate knowledge in an area of law where you have none. If you get caught, you could look 1) stupid and/or 2) disingenuine. It's best to just say you don't have any experience but you have a strong interest in learning. Maybe you wrote an article or did research once on a type of real estate law. Maybe you can draw similarities between things you have practiced with real estate. But I definitely wouldn't give anyone the impression that you're experienced when you are in fact not. Too risky.

filibuster

Bronze