2L summer ideas?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

2L summer ideas?

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Jan 16, 2017 4:27 pm

T25, top third, KJD, struck out at OCI. Mass mailed and networked hard through the end of Christmas break and no luck. Grades from 2L Fall were mediocre and GPA fell to slightly below top third. My goal from the minute I started studying for the LSAT was to land big law, and now I've accepted that a firm job isn't going to happen.

I'm pretty apathetic toward this semester and don't really want to be a lawyer anymore. I'll finish it out because I have a full scholarship and no debt, generally enjoy school more than the "real world," and have some things I would still like to do in law school (e.g. certain externships, clinics, study abroad, etc.). But I've basically accepted that I'm not going to be a lawyer, and am not sure what I should do over the summer. How quickly do I need to line something up? I've thought about taking the semester to figure out what I really want to pursue, work part-time for the school or a professor over the summer, and take the GRE and apply to grad schools/MBA/other jobs.

Does anyone have any suggestions for things I should look into? Or is it basically down to 1L-ish jobs for this summer, i.e. unpaid government agencies and non-profits?

Just pretty lost at this point.

umichman

Bronze

Re: 2L summer ideas?

Postby umichman » Mon Jan 16, 2017 5:06 pm