Should a graduate still state a GPA on the resume?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Should a graduate still state a GPA on the resume?

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Jan 07, 2017 5:22 pm

I graduated with cum laude.. Should I still state my GPA on my resume? If not, does it indicate that my GPA sucks?

My and other law school provide resume samples and none of them have a GPA on it...

Mr. Archer

Bronze

Re: Should a graduate still state a GPA on the resume?

Postby Mr. Archer » Sat Jan 07, 2017 7:09 pm

As long as you mention you graduated cum laude, then it won't indicate you had a bad GPA. I've seen samples like that, but you can also just put the GPA and cum laude designation on there. No reason not to have both.

trebekismyhero

Silver

Postby trebekismyhero » Sat Jan 07, 2017 7:20 pm

I don't have my GPA on my resume, just my honors. I assume most employers know that having honors means your GPA doesn't suck. But obviously you can put both

haus

Gold

Postby haus » Sat Jan 07, 2017 7:48 pm

I think that this depends how far you are away from school.

If your resume is basically various colleges you have been to and a internships/summer associate type gigs then GPA would look fine. If you have been working for 10-20 years then your GPA likely does not matter much, and may look odd still being on your resume.

kalvano

Diamond

Postby kalvano » Sat Jan 07, 2017 9:07 pm

haus wrote:I think that this depends how far you are away from school.