Need Honest Advice Regarding Current Employment - Help Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Need Honest Advice Regarding Current Employment - Help

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Dec 27, 2016 3:14 pm

Alright, so here it goes.

I graduated from a decent school, not top tier, but well respected and the 'big fish' in the surrounding 'pond' of employment. Upon graduation, with a 3.5 GPA, I got an offer from a law firm that has anywhere from 240-360 attorneys with multiple locations. However, I had to move outside of my law school 'pond' to the firm's headquarters in a particular city in a particular state. I am currently in this new state, which is consistently ranked in the bottom (out of 50) for employment, economic health, happiness, etc... You name it, this state is in the bottom five in almost all categories; I can see why.

I have lived in this area since the summer, where I studied and took the Bar. I passed the bar, and have now been practicing since September. I am happy that I practice a particular niche area of law, and I am learning quickly.