Appellate clerkship necessary for appeals specilization?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
timmyd

Bronze

Appellate clerkship necessary for appeals specilization?

Postby timmyd » Fri Dec 23, 2016 10:36 am

As a new attorney, I've already been tasked with writing multiple briefs in both state and federal court. I work for a smaller firm, I don't know how common this would be in say, big law. I love this area and would like to make it my niche so to speak. I completed a federal district clerkship before joining the firm. However, I'm wondering if I need to try for an appellate clerkship at either the state supreme court level or federal level to truly unlock every ounce of potential in this area.

I talked to one of the partners about this, and he said it wasn't necessary. Instead, he recommended just doing as many appellate briefs as I can. on that note, I'm thinking about doing some pro se, if I can (I'm not sure the process). I just wanted thoughts from practitioners on the forum as to whether a good appellate lawyer needs to have clerked at that level. I understand some of the arguments in favor of clerking; they were the same arguments that led me to complete a district clerkship: understanding the procedure, understanding what sways the court, etc. However, I'm not sure my firm would support me leaving for a year and I want to be here long term.

encore1101

Silver

Re: Appellate clerkship necessary for appeals specilization?

Postby encore1101 » Fri Dec 23, 2016 10:46 am