2L drop out, options?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
NeedingWisdom20

New

2L drop out, options?

Postby NeedingWisdom20 » Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:27 pm

Dear TLS,

New to the forum, I'll make it concise as possible.

Attended a T20 for a year, came up short on expectations, dropped out in the start of 2L with good standing. The question is, now what?

I have a bachelor's in biology from a top 10 college. A few options I'm looking at:

1.) Transfer to another law school - possibly around the same rankings, low T20's, and if that doesn't work, willing to drop down to T50 with location boost. Problem is, the risk of transferring to a lower ranked school and how that might affect job chances. Getting small law is one thing, but being unemployed months after graduation is quite another. I'd be content working in government or boutique, but cannot tolerate finishing up 2 more years of JD (with all the tuition) and ending up unemployed. I do enjoy learning the law and can see myself practicing as a lawyer, but the financial considerations given the investment are huge.