How do 3Ls network to get a job?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How do 3Ls network to get a job?

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Dec 04, 2016 6:29 pm

Network, network, network... I hear it all the time.

But for 3Ls, how do we do this? Just call lawyers up at a target firm to ask them to explain about the firm? Then what??? What if there are no alum at that firm since I am an out-of-state graduate?

I don't know what to do to network as a 3L....

Anonymous User

Re: How do 3Ls network to get a job?

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Dec 05, 2016 4:11 pm

Are any of your past or current professors adjuncts who are at a firm and just teach on the side? If so, contact them.

Do any of your past or current professors have past experiences with a firm or with a practice area or market (city) that you are targeting? If so, contact them.

Go to any lunch talks where the topic is related to your practice areas of interest or where the speaker is from or has ties to your target markets.

Obviously, contact alums. Undergrad alums too.

It seems like you are going to school in Market A and are looking for a job in Market B? Look for even non-alums in Market B who went to other law schools or otherwise have ties to Market A. [Riskier and depends on the particulars, obviously.]

Basically, contact as many people as you can. Prioritize the stronger connections, of course, but if you have few direct connections (friends, alums), then don't be too afraid to branch out.