Career Advice for a Foreign J.D.-Holder

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Krishna

New

Career Advice for a Foreign J.D.-Holder

Postby Krishna » Sun Oct 30, 2016 3:00 pm

Hello,

I am from Europe and graduated from a T14 school. Please note that my degree is not an LLM, but a legitimate J.D. (although I spent two years in this U.S. law school because the other two years in the program had to be completed in my home country). My law school grades were about average. I am now admitted to the New York bar (I was sworn-in last June).

Because I didn't know whether I wanted to work in the U.S. or in Europe, and because I was very intimidated by the prospect of having to compete in an environment where my native language would always represent some form of disadvantage, I didn't participate in any OCIs or other interviews while I was in law school, which I now sorely regret.

I am now considering starting a career overseas and, as I don't really know where to start, I am interested in hearing any piece of advice you might have.

In my home country, I have gained some valuable work experience as an intern with two U.S. big law firms and in different areas (corporate & securities/litigation). However, I am aware that getting a job in that kind of firms would be difficult for me since I missed the whole OCI process and have very little work experience in the U.S.