NYU/GULC Tax LLM as way to switch practice areas?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

NYU/GULC Tax LLM as way to switch practice areas?

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Oct 24, 2016 4:15 pm

I have several years transactional biglaw experience and am now doing some solo practitioner contract work for small companies. I've been thinking about switching to tax though since I miss problem solving (I was a quant undergrad). Is the NYU/GULC tax llm a good way to switch practice areas?

Fwiw, I have no intention of going back to biglaw - I'd rather do pure accounting work than pure legal work. I am interested in going to a Big 4 because I'm hoping it's more like tax accounting than tax law. For some time, I was considering going back to get my CPA license but at this point I'm not sure it's feasible.

Is the NYU/GULC Tax LLM a good way to switch practice areas if you already have years of biglaw plus other work on your resume? Would employers think negatively about using the Tax LLM as a way to switch areas?

nealric

Re: NYU/GULC Tax LLM as way to switch practice areas?

Postby nealric » Mon Oct 24, 2016 5:40 pm

Anonymous User wrote:I have several years transactional biglaw experience and am now doing some solo practitioner contract work for small companies. I've been thinking about switching to tax though since I miss problem solving (I was a quant undergrad). Is the NYU/GULC tax llm a good way to switch practice areas?