Venting about my job search in Houston, TX - pls advice

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Venting about my job search in Houston, TX - pls advice

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:42 pm

Hi there,

I am a foreign lawyer who recently passed NY Bar Exam. I am currently residing in Houston and have been looking for a job in Immigration law firm here. Reason for choosing immigration law is because I believe out-of-state Attorneys are not allowed to work in other fields except immigration law etc. and also I felt that I may be able to build clientele within my community who need immigration help (may be wrong).

I was practicing corporate law in my home country but I am not looking for a job in this field as I didn't enjoy it. I am not being over confident that I would get an associate position in a corporate firm and I really know that I stand minimal chances of getting one. But then I start to think, if I should apply to corporate law jobs as I would be broadening my job search instead of just applying to immigration law firms. Its been about 2 months now and I have not received any job offer. I have sent my resume to few firms directly and the rest through linkedin, indeed, monster and craigslist.

I am sure some of you might say that 2 months is nothing and you have to keep applying. I totally agree and I would continue applying but just need some help on few things: