honest billing?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

honest billing?

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Oct 16, 2016 2:15 pm

Newbie here. I was talking to my co-workers and it seems like they all fudge their numbers. For example, they work 5 good hours but somehow stretch it out in a plausible way 8 hours. It's not that they were browsing the web for 3 hours. It's just that they were taking their sweet time to do something in 8 when it could take them 5. Is this pretty much the norm? I spent like 2 days on a research assignment and couldn't muster up the courage to bill 16 hours. "Researched x in the context of y for the purpose of z.... 18 hours" sounds ridiculous but the research q was so strangely narrow and unique. Partner knew I was still working on it. But I'm also told not to self-regulate hours because I'm supposed to just bill what I billed and let the partner take care of cutting hours. What do?

J. Unfriendly

New

Re: honest billing?

Postby J. Unfriendly » Sun Oct 16, 2016 2:26 pm

Bill the amount of time you actually spend on the project. It's not your job to decide if you spent too much or too little time on something.

Nebby

Diamond

Postby Nebby » Sun Oct 16, 2016 2:28 pm

If something takes you 8 hours and you actually spent 8 hours then bill 8 hours. Don't undercut yourself because you think you could have been more efficient. Don't fudge numbers when you were not actually working 8 hours, either.

ETA scooped

Platinum

Postby 2014 » Sun Oct 16, 2016 2:31 pm