I already have SA position, do I need the secondary journal?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
MrSir

New

I already have SA position, do I need the secondary journal?

Postby MrSir » Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:36 pm

I am a transfer student at a T20 and I got a SA position at a big firm through OCI, then afterwards did a write-on for a secondary journal. Now I am contemplating whether I should actually join since I already have the SA position. Is it meaningless at this point to join when the only reason I was going to join was to boost my resume? I intend to go into IP prosecution

AZ123

New

Re: I already have SA position, do I need the secondary journal?

Postby AZ123 » Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:42 pm

Did you have the journal on your resume when you applied for the SA position?

IPmaybe

New

Postby IPmaybe » Thu Sep 08, 2016 6:48 pm

If you intend to do patent (or maybe trademark?) prosecution there is no reason to do journal (unless you want to do a clerkship, which would also be highly unusual for prosecution work). It may vary by school but journals can be significant work that may be better used pursuing other extracurriculars. A clinic with transactional work may be more pertinent/interesting.

i would only suggest it if you are at all thinking of maybe wanting to litigation instead in the future, since it's more common for them.

RaceJudicata

Gold

Postby RaceJudicata » Thu Sep 08, 2016 7:03 pm

If it's on your resume, don't quit. If it's not, then definitely quit.

Loquitur Res

New