Struck out - drop out?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Struck out - drop out?

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Aug 28, 2016 9:44 pm

I am a top third student at a T20. I had roughly 30 screeners at OCI, landed only 2 callbacks, dinged by both firms. Went to career services for some mock interviews and got feedback that I wasn't doing anything wrong. Organized another mock interview with a company in my hometown and the partners said it went great. I have a few more screeners lined up in September/October through subsequent OCI programs and mass mailing, but I really don't think anything will pan out since the bulk of my interviews have come and gone.

Having said that, is it worth it for me to stay in law school and finish my JD? Are there any advantages to having a JD I don't plan on using, or would it be a wiser career move to exit the profession now and cut my losses? Will I still be competitive for non-JD jobs if I finish my JD, or is it more helpful to go without the JD? I don't want to waste two years here if it isn't worth it.I have absolutely ZERO interest in public interest or working for a small firm in the middle of nowhere. I'm kind of lukewarm about being a lawyer in general - if I land a market paying firm then I would gladly take it, but 1L and my summer internship pretty much made me disillusioned with the profession.

KJD, econ UG from state flagship with mediocre GPA, full scholarship at T20, will have no law school or UG debt.

star fox

Diamond

Re: Struck out - drop out?