reaching out to alumni at firms i've mass-mailed Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

reaching out to alumni at firms i've mass-mailed

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Aug 22, 2016 11:53 am

Am I supposed to wait a few days or weeks before emailing an alum that works at a firm I've mass-mailed? Also, what exactly do I ask them...."I'm a student at ______ law and was wondering if you could help me get an interview with _____ firm?"

Sideshow Raheem

New

Re: reaching out to alumni at firms i've mass-mailed

Post by Sideshow Raheem » Mon Aug 22, 2016 12:19 pm

I generally reached out immediately after, or sometimes even before, I mailed my materials to recruiting. Just condense your cover letter into an email and send it to the alum. Ideally it's an alum who practices in an area of law you have expressed/can credibly express interest in but don't sweat it if it's not, and don't fake that.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:50 pm

Sideshow Raheem wrote:I generally reached out immediately after, or sometimes even before, I mailed my materials to recruiting. Just condense your cover letter into an email and send it to the alum. Ideally it's an alum who practices in an area of law you have expressed/can credibly express interest in but don't sweat it if it's not, and don't fake that.