Starting a solo practice

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
L_William_W

Bronze

Starting a solo practice

Postby L_William_W » Thu Jul 21, 2016 7:41 pm

Please, no snide, condescending or facetious remarks. If you don't have any useful advice, don't post in this thread...

I'm a recent law school graduate. I'm having a hard time finding work because I don't have any experience and I don't speak a foreign language. I tried all of the generic job search websites (Indeed, Monster, Linked In, etc...) with no luck.

I went to law school in NYC (CUNY School of Law). After getting manhandled (twice) on the NY Bar, I took the New Jersey Bar. I passed on my second New Jersey attempt. I'm currently doing pro bono work at a legal aid organization in Newark, New Jersey. I live (unfortunately, with my parents) in NYC. I don't have any money at all.

I realize that if I started a solo practice, I'd need an office, furniture, printer, fax machine, computers, and a scanner. Furthermore, I'm unfamiliar with how to actually practice law (i.e. which forms do I need to submit to the judge...).

How should I proceed? Would I be able to get a loan from a bank (I owe $100,000 in student loans and I got a forbearance)? And is there any information on the logistics of practicing law?

arklaw13

Gold

Re: Starting a solo practice

Postby arklaw13 » Thu Jul 21, 2016 7:49 pm