Do firms usually bar you from doing legal work for others (family?)

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Do firms usually bar you from doing legal work for others (family?)

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:00 pm

This may be premature because I'm studying for the bar but...

I know there isn't an ethical problem doing minor legal work for relations. I want to help my brother out with some minor legal work (negotiating a pay-for-removal with a debt collector bc my brother is spineless) after I get sworn in. I'll be starting with a biglaw firm in a couple of months. Do they usually prevent you from doing this type of thing?

HonestAdvice

Bronze

Re: Do firms usually bar you from doing legal work for others (family?)

Postby HonestAdvice » Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:06 pm

Their concern is going to be with conflicts. If it was something like estate planning then as long as you made it clear this is you independently, and not you on behalf of xxx you could just do it. Being that a company is behind the debt, you should probably check up front so your conflict doesn't wind up imputed on the whole firm.

bern victim

Silver

Postby bern victim » Tue Jul 05, 2016 9:14 pm

your firm will have a policy on this

i think free legal work for family members is usually allowed but prob has to be cleared through the firm first

HonestAdvice

Bronze

Postby HonestAdvice » Tue Jul 05, 2016 10:35 pm

Negotiating a pay for removal also isn't necessarily legal work.

Anonymous User