Moving from Public to Private Law

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
PassionvMoney

New

Moving from Public to Private Law

Postby PassionvMoney » Sun May 01, 2016 1:56 am

So I have a question. I have 2 years experience as an ADA (misdemeanors and felonies) and one year as an Assistant City Attorney (mostly tort but some 1983 cases). I'm 3 years into my career as an attorney and I'm considering what to do with the rest of my career. The informal rule is 3-5 years as a government attorney then decide if your career is going to be in govt or private law.

So I'll start off, I have enjoyed being a DA far more than an Assistant City Attorney as being a DA I get to control cases far more. if I want to take a First Degree Felony to trial it is up to me. As a City Attorney I've had to deal with more red tape (present to my boss and the mayor a case and tell them whether we should go to trial or not then they decide) so far less control over a case. So of course the power and discretion as a DA is more appealing. As a City Attorney I've done mediation, trial, depositions, answer discovery (I was in the litigation department of a medium City Attorney office, City of about a Million People). I'm now at the point where it is nut cutting time to decide if I go for the money in private practice which would be civil litigation for me, I don't care if it is plaintiff or defense, or stay in government as a prosecutor and try for a State Attorney General then in a few years AUSA attorney position.