need quick advice Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

need quick advice

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Feb 22, 2016 9:53 am

I've posted on the site frequently but want to remain anon on this one. Recent UT grad; current fed clerk. I was a transfer student and did not do oci, so, no big law or anything coming out of school. Within the past six months I accepted a job to work at my uncle's firm in a somewhat small market. The firm is great: mostly federal clerks, do complex work for the area of the country, and starts associates at 75k with swift raises. Since accepting the offer, I haven't applied to other firms. However, I applied to a fair amount over the summer.

A few days ago, one of those firms called me wishing to schedule an interview. It is a lit boutique which I don't want to name. Pay is obviously more than double the firm at which I accepted. I think I'm going to do the interview at least. But I can't help feeling like a piece of shit. Should I tell my current firm? Or should I just wait and see if I even get an offer? Obviously, the familial nature of my current firm complicates things, but general advice is welcome.

A. Nony Mouse

Diamond

Re: need quick advice

Post by A. Nony Mouse » Mon Feb 22, 2016 10:02 am

Wait and see. If you don't get the job (or get it but decide not to leave), none of this matters. If you do get the job (and decide to take it), telling your firm you're leaving is going to be awkward either way, so why make it awkward any earlier than you need to.