Writing/Outlining Strategies Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Writing/Outlining Strategies

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:11 pm

I graduated in May and have the good fortune of clerking for an appellate court. In law school, I earned a very mediocre grade in my legal writing course, but was able to perform strongly in other courses. I believe my strong performance in those courses is only due to the format of law school exams... they really just call for issue spotting and basic analysis, rather than methodical outlining and refined writing.

While I feel confident in my basic writing skills (short and pointed legal research memos, summer associate projects, etc), I have received feedback that my organization and structural clarity needs work. For example, drafting a 30+ page opinion...the individual pieces of analysis for a complex case will be decent, but my overall organization and structure is poor. I think my outlining and planning skills are weak.

Two questions: