Patent Bar for Patent Lit? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.

Take the Patent Bar?

Yes, it would be helpful
88%
No, it is not worth it
13%

Total votes: 16

Anonymous User

Patent Bar for Patent Lit?

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Oct 16, 2015 12:55 pm

I have a technical UG degree which makes me patent bar eligible. I hoped to go into patent law when I started law school and had always planned to take the patent bar. But a judicial internship during law school turned into a clerkship, which then got me in at a small firm. For the past year, I have been working as a litigation attorney in an area of law unrelated to patent law.

I have enjoyed litigation and I feel I would enjoy patent litigation more so than patent prosecution. Is it worth taking the Patent Bar now if my goal is to try to lateral into patent litigation?

Abbie Doobie

Silver

Re: Patent Bar for Patent Lit?

Post by Abbie Doobie » Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:23 pm

it will help in the sense that it 1) demonstrates you are doing more than just casting a bunch of lines out into the job market to see what you can catch, and 2) there are some firms that require their patent litigators to either be patent barred or become patent barred x months after joining the firm (mostly for IP-only firms). definitely beneficial if you are interested in doing ptab work.

totesTheGoat

Silver

Post by totesTheGoat » Fri Oct 16, 2015 3:04 pm