Volunteer as Unpaid "Law Clerk" with Solos to avoid pre-admission Gap? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Volunteer as Unpaid "Law Clerk" with Solos to avoid pre-admission Gap?

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Sep 26, 2015 11:31 am

So I graduated in june, still hustling for a full time position, somewhere. In NY, waiting for bar results. I took a short term (1 month) doc review gig and want to cry because of how boring and horrible it is. I'm leaning towards not putting it on my resume. At this point, 4 months after graduation, I don't think the "gap" is that bad, right now. In a few months, maybe.

I had the idea, variations of which I've seen around the forum, to reach out to a solo or two that I'm friendly with and just ask if I could help out, research an issue, write something short, go to court a few times with them, and let me put it on my resume as "law clerk" or something that doesn't scream doc review monkey. Is this a good idea? Obviously I have to juggle my need for income vs my need to get some real legal experience while I send out applications for real jobs. What do you think?

Mick Haller

Silver

Re: Volunteer as Unpaid "Law Clerk" with Solos to avoid pre-admission Gap?

Post by Mick Haller » Sat Sep 26, 2015 11:33 am

you will probably find some chucklehead that doesn't realize this is illegal, but you can't technically work as an unpaid intern unless you are receiving college credit. I'd consider some legit volunteer work like a legal aid society or something.

zot1