Switching from Law to HR

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
SFB222

Switching from Law to HR

Postby SFB222 » Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:18 pm

Question...I'm currently a 3-4 year attorney at a firm looking to switch to the human resources field (apparently lots of employee relations roles are filled with former law firm attorneys). Is this a risky move? Am I switching law for another field that will be equally dissatisfying? Is this a good career route or should I stick it out and go in-house long run?

BeenDidThat

Re: Switching from Law to HR

Postby BeenDidThat » Sat Jun 27, 2015 12:49 am

We can't answer this for you without knowing your goals and what makes you tick.

Postby 071816 » Sat Jun 27, 2015 12:51 am

hr is a bullshit field

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Jun 27, 2015 7:04 am

I worked in HR at a large bank before law school. There is a lot of compliance stuff HR deals with, trying to avoid employment discrimination and wrongful termination lawsuits, so if you work in employment law there is some overlap.