Below Median strategy for California

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Below Median strategy for California

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:04 pm

T10. 3.1X. Pretty bummed because I studied very hard all year, even switching strategies after a disappointing Fall, reading all the books and going to academic support and all that jazz. But I guess there's no point dwelling on it.

I have a pretty interesting background and I like to think I'm personable and charming. Diversity. Moderate ties to both Norcal and Socal. East Coast school, so NY will be highly represented at OCI and I will bid a number of safeties just in case...but I REALLY want California. What can I do? What firms should I look at? I'm willing to hustle but I want to do it effectively. I already plan on mass mailing all the California firms in the NALP directory, signed up for the Bay Area diversity fair, but all of this seems like a drop in the ocean. I need to stand out. All suggestions welcome.

OutoftheWoods

Re: Below Median strategy for California

Postby OutoftheWoods » Tue Jun 23, 2015 2:10 pm

With a 3.1X, there are no safety firms (even at a T10). I can't offer any special advice other than the general: don't bid on the impossible firms (i.e. wachtell), bid firms with lower gpa floors but larger classes (for that info you can do a general search, but you prob know enough that gibson dunn is gonna be a no-go for you even though they have huge classes).