Should I Be Looking to Lateral Already?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Should I Be Looking to Lateral Already?

Postby Anonymous User » Wed May 20, 2015 3:41 pm

I graduated last May and have been practicing at a small firm (22 attorneys) for less than a year. I'm starting to feel a little weird about my firm. Profits suck, costs are high, and business has been on the decline for seemingly a decade.

This kind of leads me to believe that my job security might eventually be at risk, but since I've already discussed that in another thread, I'd like to get some advice in case I want to lateral to a mid-size or bigger firm. I'm not interested in major markets but would love to get into either the bigger firms in Cleveland or Pittsburgh.

So, a few questions:

(1) Is it possible/likely to lateral from small law to big law?

(2) If so, what should I be doing, and when should I be thinking about making a move?
Last edited by Anonymous User on Wed May 20, 2015 4:20 pm, edited 4 times in total.

smallfirmassociate

Re: Feeling Weird About my (Small) Firm...Should I Be Looking to Lateral?

Postby smallfirmassociate » Wed May 20, 2015 3:59 pm

Didn't you already start a thread about this? If not, there is another thread with remarkably similar questions and background floating around out there.

Anonymous User

Re: Feeling Weird About my (Small) Firm...Should I Be Looking to Lateral?

Postby Anonymous User » Wed May 20, 2015 4:08 pm