Looking Back - Mistakes as First Year

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Looking Back - Mistakes as First Year

Postby Anonymous User » Wed May 13, 2015 12:12 pm

I'm in my first year in biglaw. Was wondering how many/what kind of mistakes you made as a first year, whether these are expected by more senior associates/partners, and how you progressed (looking back as a 2+ yr associate). Biglaw employees (or former employees) only please...

logdog

Re: Looking Back - Mistakes as First Year

Postby logdog » Wed May 13, 2015 12:19 pm

Posting on TLS instead of billing.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Wed May 13, 2015 12:24 pm

That's more of a 2nd year thing?

swc65

Postby swc65 » Wed May 13, 2015 4:42 pm

Working too hard when the bar was so low- worrying too much

desertlaw

Postby desertlaw » Wed May 13, 2015 5:47 pm

Thinking that everything was mission-critical, had to drop everything I was doing, even if a Saturday when I'm at the beach. Not really a mistake, but something you learn along the way about what is needed ASAP and what can wait, and when you can ask about the expectation.

Big Shrimpin

Postby Big Shrimpin » Thu May 14, 2015 8:00 am

not letting group know my thoughts on issues/staying silent when i shouldve weighed-in

no ragrets

Omerta

Postby Omerta » Thu May 14, 2015 11:30 am