Regional Texas firm to V20 as a 1st year?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Regional Texas firm to V20 as a 1st year?

Postby Anonymous User » Sun May 03, 2015 1:49 pm

I currently work as a first year at a Texas based firm (think something along the lines of Kelly Hart, Winstead, Munsch Hardt, Carrington Coleman, Gardere, Strasburger) in a transactional practice group. I have the opportunity to interview with a NY based V20 in the same city. How would this look to future employers if I were to switch firms while in my first year? The deals, clients, and work would be significantly more sophisticated and would also come with a decent pay bump. Any thoughts are appreciated.

BeenDidThat

Re: Regional Texas firm to V20 as a 1st year?

Postby BeenDidThat » Sun May 03, 2015 2:09 pm

Anonymous User wrote:I currently work as a first year at a Texas based firm (think something along the lines of Kelly Hart, Winstead, Munsch Hardt, Carrington Coleman, Gardere, Strasburger) in a transactional practice group. I have the opportunity to interview with a NY based V20 in the same city. How would this look to future employers if I were to switch firms while in my first year? The deals, clients, and work would be significantly more sophisticated and would also come with a decent pay bump. Any thoughts are appreciated.

Jumping early can be a red flag, but probably wouldn't be in this circumstance because there's an obvious (and good) explanation: it's a job with a more highly respected firm.