Don't like big-law staff attorney job, advice Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Don't like big-law staff attorney job, advice

Post by Anonymous User » Fri May 01, 2015 10:32 am

Hi all:

Here's a little background: I'm a 2012 Tier 1 Grad with an average GPA and solid experience. I've been working as a Staff Attorney at bigger law firm for about 2 months (after slaving away in doc review for 2 years), and so far, I don't really like it: hours, people. culture etc. I feel like the associates and partners could be decent, but my immediate group isn't too great - plus there's a fair amount of travel and we seem to be leveraged like associates. Does anyone have any advice as to what I should do? Should I just stick it out? When's a good time to try to reach within the firm and get some different work?

Thanks

Anonymous User

Re: Don't like big-law staff attorney job, advice

Post by Anonymous User » Fri May 01, 2015 11:41 am

In short, if I wanted to leave, about how long should I stay? 6 months? Over a year? Also, we've just been doing doc review on the matter I'm on, and it keeps like it'll be more of the same- will that be enough to parlay into some sort of different position? Or should I find a way to get more substantive work?

Rowinguy2009

Bronze

Post by Rowinguy2009 » Fri May 01, 2015 12:10 pm