Should I take the offer?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
lolwat7

Should I take the offer?

Postby lolwat7 » Sun Apr 05, 2015 3:17 pm

I have recently been offered a lateral position and could use some guidance on how to proceed.

I graduated from a T20 in May 2013. Went to school in a mid-sized flyover market (let's call it City A) and thought that's where I'd end up long-term. Turns out my best job offer was at a secondary biglaw firm in City B and I headed there after law school.

I worked at the big firm in City B for about 15 months but moved firms due to a lack of work. I applied broadly during my search back in August/September, both in City A and City B.

In November I started a new job at my current firm. My current firm is still in City B and has about 40 attorneys. It was started as a boutique firm and is one of the best firms in the state for this kind of work, though it has grown to incorporate other practice areas as well. I really like the work, really like my co-workers, and I've gotten great feedback since I started. I feel secure here.

Out of the blue three weeks ago, a big firm back in City A called me up for an interview. This firm was my top choice firm during OCI in 2011 and I applied for this job opening in August 2014. I never heard back and just assumed it was a ding. I was in City A for a long weekend last week, so I said sure why not, no harm in talking to them.