help me pick an offer: policy v. (sort of) litigtion Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.

what should i do?

go with the firm
76%
work for the government
24%

Total votes: 17

Anonymous User

help me pick an offer: policy v. (sort of) litigtion

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Apr 02, 2015 11:36 pm

Hi all. I am a somewhat recent graduate who has been doing a fellowship at a small plaintiff side firm since graduation. I currently work in a niche area of plaintiffs law where the law is good and it's expanding. I have had a great work experience thus far: I work 40 hour weeks, no billable hours, the work is interesting and I feel good about it (not ambulance chasing), the people are great, etc. Most of it is investigation type work with very little "real" litigation, as our cases typically settle. Thus, I have never really drafted briefs, done motions, depos, etc, or had very much work that has actual deadlines. I have little desire to do "real" litigation of that nature and I'm happy doing mostly investigation type work. I also make good $$ for a plaintiff side firm. In short, I like what I do. Staying at the firm is not an option as they don't hire fellows on permanently.