Best job market (AZ, TX, CA)

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
BioChemXFIT

Best job market (AZ, TX, CA)

Postby BioChemXFIT » Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:44 am

I'm currently a Chicago student looking to move away from this crappy winter weather, the unfriendly CTA commute and an improvement on living situation (rent/sqft - yes, I realize CA is not meeting this criteria).

My background is in biochemistry, I have a publication, I've worked for a very well-known law firm downtown Chicago. I'm not completely unmarketable, but my B-average grades aren't very impressive to out-of-state employers. I have a few months to decide which bar exam to take but I'm completely uncertain where I want to end up.

I'm currently considering moving to either Scottsdale/Phoenix Arizona, Austin Texas or San Diego CA. I'm not wanting a big law job - at least that is not where I'm aiming. Can anyone shed some light on the job markets for IP attorneys in those areas?

Ideally, I would work in biotech/pharma, but that seems to be a dying field. I'm considering the softer-IP practice in trademarks and copyright. Thanks for the help :)

BearLaw

Re: Best job market (AZ, TX, CA)

Postby BearLaw » Mon Mar 30, 2015 12:30 pm

BioChemXFIT wrote:I'm currently a Chicago student looking to move away from this crappy winter weather, the unfriendly CTA commute and an improvement on living situation (rent/sqft - yes, I realize CA is not meeting this criteria).