Debt vs. Career Flexibility

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Debt vs. Career Flexibility

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Mar 25, 2015 1:53 pm

I graduated with 80K debt, though its a loan my parents took out and gave to me. So I pay them back monthly, with very low interest. In 1.5 years of biglaw, I've paid back over 20K. Thinking about making a change to public interest, or certain other avenues that would cut down salary dramatically, but would come along with a far higher job satisfaction, more manageable stress levels and hours, etc. At what debt level does that kind of change become realistic? I have enough in savings that I could write a check and pay off all my debt tomorrow (though my parents are cool with me extending the repayment period a few more years if I need). To what extent does that factor into the calculus?
Last edited by Anonymous User on Wed Mar 25, 2015 1:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

itascot1992

Re: Debt vs. Career Flexibility

Postby itascot1992 » Wed Mar 25, 2015 1:58 pm