Quitting Midlaw due to Stress Related Illness, disclose?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Quitting Midlaw due to Stress Related Illness, disclose?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Mar 24, 2015 10:39 pm

I graduated last year and started a job at a midlaw firm (200+ attorneys). Even though the hours are nowhere near as bad as biglaw (I work 50-60 hour weeks), I've developed a stress/anxiety related health issue.

I want to quit this job, and move back home to live with my parents for a while, and hopefully get another job (maybe not even a law firm job) when I have my health issues under control.

To stay as "employable" as I can be, what is the best way to do this? Do I tell my employer that I have a health issue? If I don't, I can just say I want to move to be closer to family. At the same time, I feel like telling them about my health issue would be more honest and would help me leave on better terms. My work has been solid, and I've been on good terms with everyone. They are all nice people, and I know they'll be disappointed when I leave. I just want to leave on the best terms.

Unemployment insurance and/or cost is not an issue for me. I have no debt, I've saved a lot this year, and I'm lucky because my parents/significant other are willing to support me.