Completely Forgot to Cover for a Partner @ a Hearing this AM

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Completely Forgot to Cover for a Partner @ a Hearing this AM

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Mar 10, 2015 4:27 pm

Some background: I graduated in May and started at this small firm (about 25 attorneys) last September. I'm a first year associate that just does whatever they tell me, and that includes routinely covering for several partners at various hearings.

Well, I'm going on vacation this weekend and have been in a huge rush to finish two motions. So I came to the office this morning and slammed away at one of the motions all day without regard to anything else.

And then I got an email from my partner. He just got a call from the county clerk asking why he didn't appear. In short, I totally missed a hearing because I was so focused on the above-described motion (luckily, he has a good relationship with the judge, and the judge issued a continuance).

But I think I shit my pants when I read that email, and I'm still sweating bullets thinking about it. I made the partner look bad, pissed off a judge right down the street, presumably pissed off the client, etc.