A few months in firm job - too soon to apply to new firm?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

A few months in firm job - too soon to apply to new firm?

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Mar 08, 2015 2:42 pm

I am in a unique job situation. I am a first year staff attorney at a reputable regional big law firm. When I originally applied to the firm, they did not have a job opening and they told me that they did not need think that they would need a new associate from a long-term perspective. However, they liked me and one of their attorneys would be out on medical leave for a few months. They told me that I could start as a staff attorney, and in about 6 months to 1 year, they would reassess their needs to see if I will be promoted to a regular associate. At that point, the firm would either promote me or let me go. The firm said that they don't like having staff attorneys.

I've been at the firm for a few months and have been super busy. The partners and attorneys I have worked with have been great, and I have only received positive feedback for my work product. If things keep up at the current pace, I feel confident that I will get a permanent offer. However, I have been burned by similar promises in the past (got no-offered at another firm because lack of work). Plus, my "review" coincides with the return of the attorney on medical leave.