best "vacations" to take as a junior associate?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
TFALAWL

best "vacations" to take as a junior associate?

Postby TFALAWL » Fri Feb 20, 2015 11:03 pm

I took a cruise the summer after I graduated college --> no cellular access of any sort. FTW, amirite?

Anonymous User

Re: best "vacations" to take as a junior associate?

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Feb 21, 2015 12:42 am

If you're at a firm that isn't total shit, you get coverage when you go on vacation and don't need to worry about how accessible you are because someone else will handle it, and people won't even bother trying to contact you.

Less true the more senior you are but 100% true as a junior.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Feb 21, 2015 1:09 am

Anonymous User wrote:If you're at a firm that isn't total shit, you get coverage when you go on vacation and don't need to worry about how accessible you are because someone else will handle it, and people won't even bother trying to contact you.

Less true the more senior you are but 100% true as a junior.

Ditto. I am at a busy V-5 where I bill over 200 hours per month and this is absolutely true. I remember getting ready for my first vacation by letting everyone know where I would be and trying to appear as available as possible. I went into it fully prepared to have to squeeze in work at every turn, but I was completely wrong. I didn't get a single email to deal with the entire ten days off.