AUSA Taking Questions Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Whiteshirtnavysuit

New

AUSA Taking Questions

Post by Whiteshirtnavysuit » Tue Feb 17, 2015 6:33 pm

I am an Assistant United States Attorney happy to answer any questions I can to help anyone interested in state or federal prosecution.

Anonymous User

Re: AUSA Taking Questions

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Feb 17, 2015 6:58 pm

Thank you so much for taking the time to do this. I have a bunch of questions.

I'm a current fed. dist. ct. clerk in the south, enjoying the low cost of living, and I am heading to a permanent honors program prosecutor position in a major city later this year.

- How did you become an AUSA? Lateral? Honors program? How long have you been an AUSA?
- How was the NAC? What was the schedule like? Did you enjoy it?
- How quickly were you in the courtroom? Do you work in teams?
- Are you in a major city? I don't have any debt, but I'm worried about managing the high cost of living. I'm going in as a GS-12, and I have already passed the bar, so I was wondering how quickly promotions come.

Thanks again!

swampman

Bronze

Post by swampman » Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 pm

Does your office prefer hiring state prosecutors or people from firms?
For state prosecutors, what distinguishes one applicant from another?

Whiteshirtnavysuit

New

Post by Whiteshirtnavysuit » Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:05 pm