Telling partners that your caseload is becoming unmanageable Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Telling partners that your caseload is becoming unmanageable

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:03 pm

I have been working at a small, general practice law firm for about six months now. The firm never had any associates before, and recently hired myself along with another recent law school graduate. Each partner does not keep track of the work that I'm assigned by the other partners, and all of the partners continue to give me work. About 50% of my assignments consist of gathering medical records and other tasks that are suitable a paralegal, but all of our paralegals have a lot on their plates already and I'm not sure whether I'm allowed to delegate any work to other staff members. I'm starting to feel overwhelmed, it is taking me forever to get around to taking other non-time sensitive assignments, and I'm afraid that I'm moments away from making a fatal mistake. What is the best way to let the partners know about this?

lawschoolftw

Bronze

Re: Telling partners that your caseload is becoming unmanageable

Post by lawschoolftw » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:35 pm

How much are you working right now?

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:50 pm