Former boss won't pay me or return calls/emails. Now what?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Former boss won't pay me or return calls/emails. Now what?

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Jan 30, 2015 12:44 pm

Background: I'm a second-year law student. I recently took a temporary law clerk position with the partner of a mid-sized regional firm to make some extra money for rent. When I was hired, he told me he expected 20 hours a week, at $20 an hour. I said that was doable. After I was hired, he changed it to 20 hours in 5 days (Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday, MLK day). I said it was fine, and worked throughout the long weekend for him. As I neared the 20-hour mark, he started asking for more hours, and called me during hours of the day I specifically told him I would not be home. I answered when I could. He was not happy I was not at my computer during the times he called.

The work: He sent me a spreadsheet (about 2000x1000 cells) and told me to fill in the cells. Each of the rows pertained to a contract 70-100 pages long. He wanted me to review them at a pace of 15 minutes each. Again, I'm a 2L, not a 3rd year associate. By the evening of MLK day, he asked me how many I had finished. I said ~ 60. He said that was not helpful; he expected 500. I told him 500 was not doable, even if I didn't sleep and skipped all my classes. I then sent him what I had, along with a billing invoice.