What can I do a year and a half out of school?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

What can I do a year and a half out of school?

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Jan 17, 2015 2:28 am

I was a May 2013 graduate at a Tier 1 school and passed the Maryland bar exam. I stayed on as a law clerk at a small practice through the end of 2013, worked with a solo practitioner for a few months and then worked as a clerk at a medium-sized firm for the last 8 months of 2014. With the work drying up, the firm had to let me go and now I am doing temp work.

I'm not asking for a pity party, but I did work very hard to juice up my resume during school. Several impressive internships with federal agencies, firms, non-profits. I even interned for a federal judge. My grades were middle of the pack, but I'm not sure how much that matters at this point.

I have only made 1 court appearance, and that was as a 1-day contract attorney for a family law attorney.

I guess I just didn't see myself reaching this point. I feel like I have taken so many steps backwards since graduation. Many of my classmates have found attorney jobs.

I just don't know where I went wrong. I'd love to hear any stories or advice.

Thanks.

XxSpyKEx

Re: What can I do a year and a half out of school?

Postby XxSpyKEx » Mon Jan 19, 2015 4:41 pm

Anonymous User wrote:I just don't know where I went wrong.

This is the problem:

Anonymous User wrote:I was a May 2013 graduate at a Tier 1 school

My grades were middle of the pack...