Jobs for grad in IP w/ Low Grades - Would Master's help?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Jobs for grad in IP w/ Low Grades - Would Master's help?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jan 13, 2015 11:31 pm

I went to a T25 undergrad school and T20 law school, where I was a journal staff member. I passed the patent bar and my state bar. I have been working at the PTO for nearly 8 years, but am contemplating moving to a law firm for to challenge myself and also increase my earning potential.

Having said that, I am worried that my low grades will keep me from even being considered (think 2.5 undergrad and 3.0 law). Due to my extensive prosecution experience, I was shooting for at least a 2nd year associate position. I am guessing I might have a shot at a small boutique firm (please correct me if I'm wrong), but was wondering what my chances were at big law as patent attorney?

Would spending the next couple years getting a master's degree in CS/EE/CpE be at all helpful?

I hear law firms also do not like extensive experience at the PTO, is that true?

Thank you

ExBiglawAssociate

Re: Jobs for grad in IP w/ Low Grades - Would Master's help?

Postby ExBiglawAssociate » Wed Jan 14, 2015 12:28 am

Wait, did you work as an examiner after going to law school or before?

rpupkin

Postby rpupkin » Wed Jan 14, 2015 12:47 am