What to include in a cover letter for a DA position? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

What to include in a cover letter for a DA position?

Post by Anonymous User » Mon Jan 12, 2015 7:21 pm

Good afternoon everyone,

I'm a recent graduate getting ready to apply for a few District Attorney I positions in California. I've passed the bar, of course, but my legal employment history consists entirely of law clerk positions, so I do not have any formal trial experience aside from trial practice courses and mock trial competitions.

My grades are decent, but not great. I was in the middle of the class and was not on any journals. Bad move on my part, I know. I really enjoy criminal law and have some good experience from my first and third internships and have decent letters of recommendation, though I don't know what my judges will say about me behind my back; I probably could have worked a bit harder. I'll be starting pro bono work with a local legal aid program, though not in a representative capacity (I don't want to be in the middle of representing someone if I should find myself with a job offer).

Should I keep it short and sterile and simply express my interest in the position and expound upon the information listed in my resume? Or should I try and put a little heart in it and talk about my passion for criminal law (I'm a profoundly uninteresting person, so that will be a little difficult)?

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

Anonymous User