Disclosing expunged arrests to law school Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Disclosing expunged arrests to law school

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Dec 31, 2014 4:50 pm

TLS community,

I'm currently a law student who has begun to think about the Bar Exam and C&F. I have realized that there are two things that I will be disclosing on the Bar which I did not disclose in my law school application, but probably should have. I have two arrests for minor offenses. The records of both were expunged. There were no charges.

I'm wondering how to go about disclosing these to my law school and what I should anticipate. For the record, I went back and reviewed my law school's application packet. There is a question requesting that you disclose "all arrests and convictions" but it is silent as to expunged records. Some law school applications, if I recall correctly, explicitly request information on expunged records.

Thanks

[Mods: I posted this in legal employment so that I could use the anonymous feature.]

MKC

Diamond

Re: Disclosing expunged arrests to law school

Post by MKC » Wed Dec 31, 2014 4:53 pm

Well, the school asked if you had ever been arrested, not whether there was a record about it, and you said no even though you had been arrested twice.

I don't know what the consequences are going to be, but you failed to disclose something to the law school when you applied that you almost definitely should have.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Dec 31, 2014 4:54 pm