Got no billables. Help!

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Got no billables. Help!

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:28 pm

New V50 associate here. I've been working for a couple of months now and have billed fewer than a hundred hours in that time. The firm in general is very busy, as are people in my department. I work in a small department, and the other associate who started at the same time doesn't have much work either.

My firm doesn't have a minimum billable hours requirement, but I'm still kind of freaking out; obviously, I'd love to get more work, both for professional development and so that, you know, I don't get fired. I knew that the firm was busy coming in, and I braced myself for too much work, but I'm totally not prepared for too little.

What should I do, TLS? Any advice on how to hustle for more assignments would be appreciated.

fats provolone

Re: Got no billables. Help!

Postby fats provolone » Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:36 pm

ask people for work?

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:51 pm

fats provolone wrote:ask people for work?

Sorry, should've mentioned. I've been asking, and partners/senior associates have generally said something like "Yeah! Great! I'll get you something." Followed by crickets.

fats provolone

Postby fats provolone » Mon Dec 15, 2014 7:52 pm

yea i wouldn't worry about it then

Desert Fox
Progressively loosing literacy

Postby Desert Fox » Mon Dec 15, 2014 8:16 pm