Seeking insight from those who entered biglaw after 3+ yrs Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Seeking insight from those who entered biglaw after 3+ yrs

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Nov 25, 2014 7:33 pm

Anon because I'm a paranoid weirdo

I'm a gov attorney for a financial regulator (think OCC/SEC/Fed/FDIC/FTC...i know, very ambiguous) with three years of practice under my belt. I have the opportunity to make a move into NYC biglaw. I'm hoping I can get some insight from anyone who has made a similar move, be it from gov or other public sector agencies, or smaller firms.

I'm very interested to hear about the biggest day-to-day differences, the ease of transitioning into the firm as a young attorney (i.e. creating relationships with partners and other associates), the level of expectations on lateral attorneys, and any other pros and cons you can think of. thanks in advance, i'll try to provide more info if necessary.

mvp99

Silver

Re: Seeking insight from those who entered biglaw after 3+ yrs

Post by mvp99 » Tue Nov 25, 2014 8:35 pm

Are you transferring as a second year?

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Nov 25, 2014 9:23 pm

mvp99 wrote:Are you transferring as a second year?
OP here, third year

crgoss

New

Post by crgoss » Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:13 am

I transferred from the occ to Wilmer hale dc after three years. Happy to share my exoerience. Pm me.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Nov 29, 2014 2:37 pm