Anyone else considering other careers?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
erin6

Anyone else considering other careers?

Postby erin6 » Tue Nov 25, 2014 12:17 am

I graduated this year and am doing a clerkship with a biglaw job lined up after this. Even though I liked law school, I've been a lot less happy with my summer jobs and clerkship than I expected. I know I'm fortunate to have a good job in this economy and plan to stick with it for at least a couple of years to see if my experience changes, but I've also started to think about other options.

The alternatives I'm considering are consulting and med school. I was choosing between those two options and law school four years ago, and now I feel like I made the wrong decision. Consulting would obviously be the easier transition, since it wouldn't necessarily require more school, but I'm leaning toward the med school route if I decide to switch.

Anyone else thinking about doing something else? What are you considering? I ask more out of curiosity than to get advice, but feel free to tell my I'm crazy if you'd like.

mvp99

Re: Anyone else considering other careers?

Postby mvp99 » Tue Nov 25, 2014 12:36 am

What makes you think you'll like consulting?

erin6

Postby erin6 » Tue Nov 25, 2014 1:21 am

mvp99 wrote:What makes you think you'll like consulting?